Slow and Steady Wins the Race

I enjoy being at work. I enjoy the camaraderie and the change in scenery. I enjoy packing up at the end of the day, grabbing my laptop and my lunchbox and heading out. I enjoy walking down the street towards the bus stop, purse on my shoulder, laptop in hand and feeling as though I own the world and that I am important. I feel quite grown up. 

But I yearn for the days when I can work from home, make my own hours and avoid the commute to work. When I can be my own boss. I can picture my office, big windows with light sheer curtains framing a beautiful green yard and luscious colourful garden. The office would be a spacious and bright place with a comfy office chair, a nice desk and a wicked powerful but light laptop. Sometimes, I would wander out to the local Starbucks, laptop in hand and sit at the coffee shop for a few hours. I would sip on a chai or green tea latte while working on my latest film script or editing a document for a client.

I’d have a few nice suits for the days when I’d go meet clients at their offices. And I’d have my driver’s license.

I aim to make this dream a reality. Down the road and in a few years this dream will be my life. Why wait so long? Stability and the need to make changes in other areas first in order to make the journey. I am only realizing my potential now and I have to get my hand sorted. One step at a time. One day at a time.

Slow and steady wins the race.

 

Leave a Reply

