Flittering Thoughts

Its hard to focus on anything these days. Perhaps its the weather. Its cold and snowy. Winter has us locked in his long cold knobby grasp and he’s not letting go anytime soon. All I want to do is close up the house, turn the furnace up high and huddle under the warmth of my five layers of blankets. I could sleep away the winter like a bear hibernating in a cave.
 
Instead I get up at 6:30 every morning, rush about the house, put on layer after layer of winter clothes, trudge through snow, ice and cold, and get on an overheated, over stuffed bus to go to work. At work, I try to force my mind to focus on my day to day tasks. Its difficult. The lights above me, and the brightness of the monitor screen glare at me, taunting me, reminding me that there are other things I’d rather be doing. I accomplish some tasks – writing and emails primarily and the rest get left to another day. The layers go back on, I trudge back out in the ice, snow and cold, back to the overheated and overstuffed bus. I go back to where I started; where I should have stayed in the first place. 
 
I find it difficult to write everyday. My thoughts are too fleeting. They flitter through my head like hummingbirds in the summer. Its too hard to capture them. By the time I’m able to put pen to paper they have vanished like the wind on a calm summer day. Its frustrating. Spring is still so far away. January is done. Perhaps February will bring us closer to the long lazy days of summer I crave.
Leave a Reply

