Mary, Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?

With spring only five weeks away (yes, I know, I’m optimistic), I’ve started gathering ideas for my garden this year. Our backyard is interesting. We have a spruce tree in the back right corner of the yard and the neighbours have an oak tree that hangs over into our yard (on the left side). We get a considerable amount of shade, although we do get a little bit of sun around midday. Last year I set up a small garden around the spruce tree, put in some edging, added some top soil, planted a bunch of hostas and a coleus, some impatiens and eventually put down some red cedar mulch to keep the bugs out. 

The acorns dropped continuously in our yard, making the soil super acidic, and the squirrels dug up all of my impatiens and two of my hostas. The coleus almost died before i put down the red cedar mulch. By the end of the summer I knew I had to do the garden completely differently. So this year I am going to start container gardening. I’m going to pull up the plants that survived and put them in containers and place them around the yard. At the spruce tree I’m going to put a squirrel feeder and I’m going to put up a bird feeder somewhere else in the yard (I haven’t decided where yet). I’m going to plant some herbs and other shade loving plants and put peppermint around the plants i want the squirrels to stay away from. I was also thinking of raking up the acorns and throwing them in the green compost bin to keep the yard cleaner. Maybe it will help the clover grow instead of having a big mud pit.

What challenges have you had gardening? Do you have any tips or tricks?

One thought on “Mary, Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?

Leave a Reply

