Slow Mo

I fell off the wagon with my happiness project when NaNoWriMo happened and my novel writing took off. Seeing a nutritionist the past few months hasn’t helped getting me back into actively completing my happiness project. But that’s okay. These were amazing tasks to take on and when I decided to do it, I knew something would be put off to the side to make room. Now that I’m on my second draft of my novel, and I’ve settled into these changes I think its okay to get back into my happiness project. Only I’m going to take it slow.

The focus of May was supposed to be slowing down. And since I’ve been focusing on slowing down while eating with my nutritionist I figured it made sense to focus the rest of August and all of September on slowing down in general. The journey I’ve taken with my nutritionist has been amazing and I’ve learnt a few things about myself and my life. The most important thing is mindfulness.

I’m the type of person who loves doing a lot of things and I want to experience as much as possible. That usually leads me to sitting in front of the television after work and crocheting or reading or multitasking in some way. Which usually means I don’t end up paying attention to the show I’m watching.

I’m also not a morning person so I tend to roll out of bed at the last possible minute and then get ready for work. This usually means I’m either running out the door or missing the bus and being late for work. Likewise I’m always in a rush to get home, not wanting to waste my precious moments commuting. I’m only tired and cranky as a result of the rushing.

So as I’m learning to slow down with eating, I’m starting to learn to slow down in life in general and concentrate only on those things that matter most. Plus, if I give myself the time I need in the mornings and after work, and with everything I do in life, I won’t be quite as stressed.

So now its time to experience life in slow mo.

Leave a Reply

