When I first decided to join Camp NaNoWriMo it was resulting from a blog I read on the camp. It sounded interesting an I thought, why not? So I signed up and jumped in.

I was so excited and nervous at first. Once I got started,  I found my writing rhythm and became enthralled with the process. I didn’t reach my word goal but I was thrilled at what I had accomplished that month. I had written more in one month for a novel than I had in two years. It was amazing. After camp I continued writing. I was determinedto finish my book and publish it.

Camp awoke my desire to write for a living. I always enjoyed writing but it had been years since I thought about making it a career. And now I have a desperate need to make the career change. The only conundrum is how. I don’t have any formal education, nor the money or time to pursue that now. So I need to rely on talent and perseverence.

A friend of mine, who’s fortunate to be able to take a course through one of the local colleges sent me links to some short story contests. I though, “Brilliant! I can enter a few contests and get my name out there.”

It may take one contest or a hundred but I’m happy to keep at it as long as it takes.

I’m also getting back into blogging. An article I read online suggested blogging regularly and preparing the posts ahead of time. So my goal is to write a blog post and short story during the week. The blog post will be uploaded every Sunday. Editing for my novel will continue on the weekend with the goal of completing it for April.

Its been an exciting year of change and I hope to continue working on my blog, short stories and novels in the coming year. Writing is a passion I am driven to pursue. Its the ultimate activity in my happiness project.

Leave a Reply

